Home > 2nd amendment, Constitution, Freedom, freedom of speech, government, Honesty, liberty, Thoughts > I am an American, I am not a terrorist – Original

I am an American, I am not a terrorist – Original

I am. . .

I am an American citizen,
I believe in the ideals of our Constitution, and Declaration of Independence,
I am not a Democrat or Republican,
I am a simple person who believes our country is dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.[1]

I am an American citizen,
I believe governments are instituted among men deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed,[2]
I am not an extremist.

I am an American citizen,
I believe our Southern sister States fought for the Constitution as bequeathed by our Fathers, to protect their homes and not to protect slavery,
I am not a racist!

I am an American citizen,
I believe our Northern sister States who fought for the Union believed that the life of the Union was essential to the life of liberty,[7]
I am not a tyrant.

I am an American citizen,
I believe our Northern and Southern sister States fought with valor as God gave them to see the right in their cause,
One for liberty in the union of the States, the other for liberty in the independence of the States,[7]
I am not ashamed.

I am an American citizen,
I wish for our future generations to enjoy the freedoms we inherited from our Fathers purchased by Revolutionary blood,
I believe our freedoms are worth fighting and dying for just as the patriots of old have,
I am not a terrorist.

But. . . .

Like every one else,
I didn’t understand why our elected officials are not held accountable when they commit crimes and excuse their behavior,
I am fearful our elected officials have lost their way, they no longer represent the people, but themselves.

Like every one else,
I never took serious the warnings by our Founding Fathers about tyranny,
I was ignorant of our history.

Like every one else,
I don’t understand why our president needs 2 billion bullets and weapons,
I never thought I’d live to see the day where a president of the United States would raise an army to invade his own country,[3]
I am not a conspiracy theorist.

Like every one else,
I never thought I would live to see the day where American troops are patrolling American cities and towns,
I am not over reacting but are we at war?

Like every one else,
I never thought the president of the United States would condone the deaths of American citizens with an executive order,
I never thought the president of the United States would order the deaths of American citizens without due process of law,
I was naive.

Like every one else,
I don’t understand why our elected officials think law abiding Americans bear arms only for deer or duck hunting,
I am not a duck or deer hunter but will use a firearm defend my freedom.

Like every one else,
I never thought our government would deem us extremists because we exercise our right to bear arms to defend our liberties,
I am confused, isn’t the role of government to defend our liberties and not take them?

Like every one else,
I never thought our government would deem us mentally unfit because we want to exercise our right to bear arms to defend our property,
Why can’t I defend my property?

Like every one else,
I never thought our government would deem us criminals because we want to exercise our right to bear arms to defend our families,
What is wrong with defending my family?

Like every one else,
I never thought our government would deem us felons because we want to exercise our right to bear arms to defend our lives,
What crime did I commit?

Like every one else,
I never thought our government would deem us terrorists because we want to exercise our right to bear arms to defend our State’s sovereignty,
I am not a gun fanatic.

Like every one else,
I thought the role of government and jobs of our elected officials are to secure, defend and protect our rights,
Why do people like Andrew Cuomo and Diane Feinstein use tragedies to take them away?

Now. . .

My eyes are open,
Our country is being taken from us,
I want my country back!

I look for inspiration and guidance,
I read of the days of old, when t’was the days of ’76[4]
Where free men, young and old,
They fought and died for our freedom, our independence,
Each than American: brave and bold.

With the noble Stars and Stripes,[4]
Our patriot ancestors in triumph they appeared,
In what was called the shot heard ’round the world.

In the darkest of times, today, we call upon the memories our patriot ancestors,
We seek their guidance as they understood their duties to be in the spirit ’76,
To fulfill that promise 7 score and 10 years ago,
That government of the people, for the people and by the people with her Constitution shall not perish from this Earth.[5]

I am American who loves the Constitution, our flag and our republic like the patriots of old,
Please understand: I am not a terrorist.

Copyright 2013, by Cycloneous

[1] Declaration of Independence, Thomas Jefferson / Gettysburg Address, Abraham Lincoln

[2] Declaration of Independence

[3] Gods and Generals, General Robert E. Lee

[4] New York Volunteer, Bobby Horton, Homespun songs of the Union Army

[5] Gettysburg Address, Abraham Lincoln

[6] Inscription on the monument to the dead of the Confederate States Army, Arlington National  Cemetery, Washington, D.C.

[7] Reminisces of the Civil War, John B. Gordon

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

